Misleading Course descrption

  • 3
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • (Edited)
LEVEL 3 SPECIALIST SUPPORT IN TEACHING AND LEARNING.
I've recently started this course and to be honest beginning to feel quite let down.
I don't feel supported by my ́personal tutor ́, the description of the course states 50 hour placement required but since arranging funding and signing up to the course I am now being told you ́recommend ́ the placement be for the duration of the course, it states in the course description that students have as long as they require to complete the course yet since signing up to it I am now faced with deadlines for each assignment and threatened with loss of funding if assignments not completed on time.
I feel I have been misled by the course description.
Why was I not informed prior to starting the course that ideally the placement should be set up before starting, also why was I not advised to arrange a placement for the duration of the course, not 50 hours if that's what you recommend? If I can complete the course in my own time as per the description, why do I have monthly deadlines?
Please can anybody clear this up?
Photo of Chrissie Louise Ashworth

Chrissie Louise Ashworth

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 3
Photo of emma.kingsmill

emma.kingsmill

  • 5 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Now you have me worried.  I bought the course via Reed and they assured me that I didn't need a placement and I could use scenarios instead (I have emailed my tutor to check but not had a response yet)  Also I have been reading about these deadlines but I've not had any, is this when you have funding?  Again I was told by Reed that I could work at my own pace and submit tests when I'm ready.  Hope you get your answers soon.
Photo of Chrissie Louise Ashworth

Chrissie Louise Ashworth

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, with regards to the work placement it said on the course description on the stonebridge website that a 50 hour placement would be required. Being only 50 hours I just assumed that this could be done at some point during the course and that so long as it was done before finishing the course then that would suffice. Well that's how I interpreted it anyway. However since receiving the text book and lots of references being made to the school you are working in, I called stonebridge who informed they expect students to have had this arranged before the course starting. It has also been stated by an official stonebridge rep on here that actually recommend this placement lasting the duration of the course! I feel quite annoyed to be honest, if that's the case why not state this in the description or in the numerous emails they send reminding you to complete sign up! I'm a very organised person and now I feel pressured into quickly finding a place. Also my personal tutor replied to my email telling me I couldn't hand in my first assignment without being on a placement yet when I phoned the college obviously worried and upset, I was then advised by somebody else that I don't need to be on a placement until assignment 5 as apparently the questions relate to activities on the placement. If my own personal tutor is providing the wrong info what chance have I got?!
With regards to the deadlines, I have two children under 5 so when I read the course description and it said this course could be completed in own time however long it takes I thought this would be perfect. However they send you an attachment in an email with an ́individual learning plan ́ which has the dates each assignment is due and this is every month. This wouldn't be too bad but my first assignment has taken me ages, I've written over five thousand words! If this is the case with every assignment I'm going to struggle.
I hope it's not because I received funding because I still have to pay the funding back (24+ government loan) so I don't expect to be penalised for this and if it is the case, then again why is not stated before starting the course.
I really hope somebody representing Stonebridge can resolve this.
Emailing takes three days for a response and when phoning I'm never put through to somebody that can answer.

Sorry for the long answer I'm just trying to include all the info for somebody to help x
Photo of Stonebridge Student Support Team

Stonebridge Student Support Team, Official Rep

  • 1194 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Hi Chrissie,

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment with regards to the deadlines for your course. For a privately funded student these deadlines would not apply, however as you have applied for funding a time limit of one year is given, for which you are given a learning plan and submission dates for your assignments.

We are sorry to hear that you were unaware of the learning plans put in place for students obtaining a 24+ loan, however this information is clearly outlined in the agreements shown to all students in their online application before you confirm enrolment.

Once again we are sorry to hear that this has caused you concern – should you now wish to discontinue this course, please return the material to us at the college and we can cancel this at no charge to yourself.

Best regards, 

Stonebridge College

Photo of sarah fox

sarah fox

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
could you please inform me as to whether there is a minimum/maximum word limit on assignments? 
Photo of Stonebridge Student Support Team

Stonebridge Student Support Team, Official Rep

  • 1194 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Hi Sarah,

There is no maximum/minimum word count, however around 300 words per individual question would be a good guideline.

Stonebridge College
Photo of Stonebridge Student Support Team

Stonebridge Student Support Team, Official Rep

  • 1194 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Hi Chrissie, 

We understand you have now spoken to a member of staff and are continuing with the course.

We wish you the best of luck with this, and please do not hesitate to contact the college tutorial department should you require anything further.

Best regards, 
Stonebridge College